2017 ACH Executive Committee Nominations and Ballot

The ACH Executive Committee of seven members oversees administration of the Association. All members are chosen by a Nominating Committee of three members elected at the Annual General Meeting. The Nominating Committee is charged with ensuring that the Executive, as far as is possible from the members willing to accept nomination, reflects the geographic diversity of the Caribbean as well as its languages and cultures. All members of the Executive are chosen to serve for one year; positions are renewable for a second year, but the period of service may differ.

I. OFFICERS

The President serves at least two years, but not more than three consecutive years. The Vice-President succeeds the out-going President, if he or she is nominated. The Secretary-Treasurer is expected to serve for three years, and may be renewed for a second three-year term. This year there is no nomination for the Conference Coordinator position on the Ballot, as those asked declined the offer. Although members are not asked to elect the Officers, the Nominating Committee has provided brief resumes for them as well as for the other members of the Executive Committee up for election, so that members of the ACH can consider the composition of the Executive as a whole.

President: Rosemarijn Hoefte. KITLV, The Netherlands

Rosemarijn Hoefte is a senior researcher at the KITLV/Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies in Leiden.

Vice President: Heather Cateau, The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine
Heather Cateau is Senior Lecturer in History in the Department of History, and Dean of the
Faculty of Humanities, The University of the West Indie, St. Augustine Campus.

Secretary-Treasurer: Tara Inniss, The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus
Tara Inniss is Lecturer in History in the Department of History and Philosophy at the University
of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus.

II. MEMBERS (please select no more than 4 of the 6 candidates):

There are four places filled by election, initially for one year, from a list of names provided by the Nominating Committee. These members may be nominated for a second year if they are willing to accept nomination:

Philippe Girard (First Nomination). Philippe Girard is Professor of History in the Department of History, McNeese State University, Louisiana.

- Margo Groenewoud, University of Curação (completed one year on the Executive). Margo Groenewoud is Head of the Library & Research Department of the University of Curação.
- Daniel Livesay (First Nomination). Daniel Livesay is Assistant Professor of History,
 Department of History, Claremont McKenna College, Claremont, California.
- ☐ Gelien Matthews (First Nomination). Gelien Matthews is Senior Lecturer in History, Department of History, The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine.
- Carla Pestana (First Nomination). Carla Pestana is Professor, and the Joyce Appleby Endowed Chair of America and the World, Department of History, University of California, Los Angeles.
- Pedro Welch (First Nomination). Pedro Welch is retired Professor of History, and former Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Education, The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill. He is also a former Secretary/Treasurer of the ACH.

If voting by mail, please print this form and send it by May 1, 2017 to:

Tara Inniss
Secretary-Treasurer
Association of Caribbean Historians
c/o The Department of History and Philosophy
Cave Hill Campus, The University of the West Indies
BARBADOS

E-mail: achsecretary@gmail.com

You may also bring your ballot to the ACH conference in Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago in a sealed envelope, or blank ballots will be provided at registration.